UPDATED: Pete Carroll Dedicates 'Thank You' Song To 12th Man

The Seahawks controversial win over the Packers is official, but the call is still under question.

The record books will show a Seahawks 14-12 victory over the Packers, but that's not stopping the National Football League (NFL) from addressing the controversial call that led to Seattle's victory Monday night (read their statement, below).

The play was ruled a 'simultaneous catch,' but Packers fans, and even some Seahawks fans argue the ball was intercepted.

According to Rule 8, Section 1, Article 3, Item 5 of the NFL rulebook: "If a pass is caught simultaneously by two eligible opponents, and both retain it, the ball belongs to the passers. It is not a simultaneous catch if a player gains control first and an opponent subsequently gains joint control."

What's your take on the play?

Seahawks Coach Pete Carroll remains please with the outcome and posted a 'Thank You' video on YouTube Tuesday morning from his office in the Virginia Mason Athletic Center overlooking Lake Washington.

The NFL released this statement Tuesday morning:

In Monday's game between the Green Bay Packers and Seattle Seahawks, Seattle faced a 4th-and-10 from the Green Bay 24 with eight seconds remaining in the game.

Seattle quarterback Russell Wilson threw a pass into the end zone. Several players, including Seattle wide receiver Golden Tate and Green Bay safety M.D. Jennings, jumped into the air in an attempt to catch the ball.

While the ball is in the air, Tate can be seen shoving Green Bay cornerback Sam Shields to the ground. This should have been a penalty for offensive pass interference, which would have ended the game. It was not called and is not reviewable in instant replay.

When the players hit the ground in the end zone, the officials determined that both Tate and Jennings had possession of the ball. Under the rule for simultaneous catch, the ball belongs to Tate, the offensive player. The result of the play was a touchdown.

Replay Official Howard Slavin stopped the game for an instant replay review. The aspects of the play that were reviewable included if the ball hit the ground and who had possession of the ball. In the end zone, a ruling of a simultaneous catch is reviewable. That is not the case in the field of play, only in the end zone.

Referee Wayne Elliott determined that no indisputable visual evidence existed to overturn the call on the field, and as a result, the on-field ruling of touchdown stood. The NFL Officiating Department reviewed the video today and supports the decision not to overturn the on-field ruling following the instant replay review.

The result of the game is final.


Keith Best September 26, 2012 at 12:31 PM
The quality of the NFL refs now in the game are akin to a community organizer overseeing the world's largest economy. NOBAMA2012!


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »